WICC AGM Highlights – November 2, 2019

The WICC fall AGM was held via ZOOM on Saturday, November 2, 2019 at 10 am (EST).

Here are some highlights from Diane Dwarka and her President’s report:

“As we reflect on the past year, we will note that we have accomplished much as a women’s organization.

We experienced the joyous spirit of celebrating 100 years of growth and fellowship and moved into a new centenary with hopes held high for a better future.  What does the future hold? It is my hope that we see continuous growth and excitement.

We said goodbye to a few members and welcomed new members under our newly structured Board. This year has been a transition year as we moved from being a Council to becoming a Board with every Board member being a valuable player on various Teams.

Our programs, World Day of Prayer and Fellowship of the Least Coin, continue to give grants to women around the world as we seek “to bring hope to women touched by injustice.” We also promote the Thursday’s in Black worldwide initiative that seeks end violence against women.

The theme of next year’s World Day of Prayer says: “Rise, take up your mat and walk”. Let us learn more about how that applies to each of us and put that into practice.

As we move into a new year, let us continue to support each other in prayer. Let us remain “rooted in prayer” as we seek justice for women and girls touched by injustice.”


Here are the board members and responsibilities as of November 2, 2019

Listed in Alphabetical Order:
Phyllis Buchner 
– United Church of Canada (Appointed), WICC Membership and Nominating Chair
Diane Dwarka
 – United Church of Canada, WICC President, Representative to the Canadian Council of Churches Human Trafficking Working Group
Dr. Anita Gittens – Anglican Church of Canada, WICC Treasurer
Valerie Hobson – The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (Appointed), WICC Marketing Communications Chair
Major Shirley King – The Salvation Army Canada and Bermuda (Appointed)
Awit Marcelino – Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) (Appointed), WICC ICFLC Representative
Rev. Steph McClellan – United Church of Canada, WICC President-Elect
Lynn Mitchell – The Anglican Church of Canada (Appointed)
Mary Nordick – Roman Catholic Church, WICC Member at Large, WICC World Day of Prayer  International Liaison
Cathy Reid
 – Presbyterian Church in Canada (Appointed) WICC Secretary
Lauren Wilks – Canadian Baptist Ministries,  WDPIC Rep for CANA (Caribbean North American) Region

Shirley DeMerchant, Past President for the WICC board has completed her term but she will continue to be an active member of the MarCom Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.